Auditions 2016: Drama Studio

So this is Drama Studio’s first year offering a BA Acting Course. Their 1 and 2 year courses already have an exceedingly good reputation but because they haven’t offered a BA before, I’d never been.

Drama Studio is a lovely environment. Its impressive and intimate, they only have classes of 12. It has a very similar feel to Bristol Old Vic in a sense. It was a small audition group of around 15, some were auditioning for the BA others for the 1/2 year courses.

We began with a talk from the tutors, basically telling us how the day would go and what the vibe at Drama Studio was like. First impressions were good, they seemed to have a good approach and were very welcoming. We began with a movement workshop, this was generally just some very simple choreography that he wanted us to act with. It was staged as though we were watching an opera and got carried away with the music. It was pretty fun.

We then moved onto the improvisation workshop. This was lead by a different tutor. We were told to improvise on our own initially in several situations, we did some animal work, then were told to wait in a doctors waiting room then told to serve tables at a restaurant. Pretty simple stuff but fun all the same. Then, in pairs, we did spontaneous improvisation. We were given an opening line and just had to run with it. I love things like this so it was pretty great and everyone worked well with each other.

You then select one monologue and perform it in front of the group. I chose my modern. It went really well in my opinion and I generally felt like I’d had a successful morning.

One brutal part about Drama Studio is the result. Results are told in front of the group and you are given personal feedback which is useful, but it’s still quite an unnerving experience. I was lucky and got recalled (yay). They run some recalls on the same day but these are for the people who travelled furthest; as I live in London I was told I would return on a different day.

I’m currently waiting for my recall date to be confirmed and I will write again to let you know how I got on!

3 thoughts on “Auditions 2016: Drama Studio

  1. Did you end up going to DSL?
    I was excepted for the 1 year program and would be curious to talk to an alumni.

    Thanks!

    Like

Leave a comment